New Adware Goes Through Messenger to Send You Dodgy Ads

The new adware uses a strange technique to force adverts onto your device.

0

Kaspersky Lab has warned it’s users that new malware is being used to download adware onto Android devices through Messenger. The new adware uses a strange technique to force adverts onto your device.

Kaspersky has mentioned that the new adware uses “advanced and obfuscated code” to infect devices through Facebook Messenger, Fortunately, once you notice how the new adware works, it’s very easy to avoid it.

So far, Kaspersky Lab is still researching the adware to understand how it gets spread among users. Essentially, hijacked Facebook accounts will send out messages to their friends with a fake link to a video. When the video is clicked, users that try to play the fake video will have adware installed on their device.

In some cases, the malware will send users to a fake download link for an update for popular apps or services. A popular one showcased is a fake download for an update of Adobe Flash Player.

So far, Kaspersky Lab is only speculating on how it spreads; “It may be from stolen credentials, hijacked browsers or clickjacking. At the moment we are not sure because this research is still ongoing.”

As always, users are advised not to click on a link if it looks suspicious in any way. The adware used is actually very basic, so if you see the link, it’s easy to ignore it and stay safe. The confusing part is that somehow user’s Facebook Messenger accounts are being infiltrated and these phishing messages are then sent out through real, infected accounts.

It’s expected that downloading the adware will also give attackers access to your Facebook account. At this point, the adware then spreads through to new users by automatically pushing out messages to all of your Facebook friends.

If you find that your Facebook account has been infiltrated by such malware, you should change your password immediately. It may also be wise to setup 2-factor authentication so that such malware can’t infect you in the future. You should also make sure to end all sessions through Facebook’s privacy settings within the Facebook app settings menu.

So far, it looks as if the Facebook virus in question does not steal your data through SMS tracking, keylogging, or any other malicious techniques. With that being said, if you do get the adware on your device, it’s wise to factory reset your device and reset all of your passwords to avoid any other malicious attempts to steal your personal details.

Make sure to backup your files first – performing a factory reset will wipe all data from your smartphone.

It looks as if this malware can also track details about what platform you’re on to determine what type of end location the link sends you to. This means that it’s possible to get the adware on both your desktop computer and your Android device. The adware will also differ depending on the location that your device shares with the website’s servers. Once again, if you get a message with a suspicious link, if ignore the link you’ll be safe from any threat.

 

You might also like More from author

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.